forum.universal-devices.com

Welcome to UDI Forum
It is currently Wed Apr 23, 2014 6:26 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 7:32 pm 
Offline
Advanced

Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 9:27 pm
Posts: 104
I cant get my new Venstar Thermostat - INSTEON Integrated Remote Control Thermostat 7-Day Programmable
Item# 2491T7E to add to my isy99 devices.

I'm not sure if I'm doing things right since the only instructions for linking is on the quick start guide and it only talks about linking to a scene controller button...

Anyway, Here's what I'm doing....
I press the set button on the thermostat until it's LED blinks then I go to the admin console and try to link by adding new Insteon device ( I enter the device address, choose {05.0E } (2491T) "All-In-One Thermostat" from the drop down menu and click "remove existing links" )
Then i get the "unable to get high watermark error " and indication that linking failed.

I have an access point about 5 feet from the thermostat and it is about 2 feet away from My ISy99

Thanks in advance for you help help....


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 7:46 pm 
Offline
Advanced

Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2009 5:39 am
Posts: 9267
Two ways to add a device. Do not press the device Set button as that put it into linking mode which prevented the ISY from communicating with it. Select New INSTEON Device, enter the Insteon address, Name of your choice, leaving Device Type set to Auto Discover. Click Ok.

Or click Start Linking which puts the ISY PLM into linking mode. Press the Set button on the device for 3-5 seconds for the device to identify itself to the ISY PLM. Click Finish.

The ISY and the Admin Console need to be at 3.2.6.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2012 7:35 pm 
Offline
Advanced

Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 9:27 pm
Posts: 104
ok I got ISY and admin console both to 3.2.6 BUT I still cant get thermostat to link using either method that you described previously... Still not showing up in device tree...

What is the deal?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2012 7:47 pm 
Offline
Advanced

Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2009 5:39 am
Posts: 9267
Run Tools | Diagnostics | Event Viewer with Level 3 selected. Use the New INSTEON Device option with Auto Discover. Add the thermostat and post the trace. Be sure there is a Dual Band device close to the thermostat for RF communication and the thermostat is Off.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2012 7:55 pm 
Offline
Advanced

Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 9:27 pm
Posts: 104
LeeG wrote:
Run Tools | Diagnostics | Event Viewer with Level 3 selected. Use the New INSTEON Device option with Auto Discover. Add the thermostat and post the trace. Be sure there is a Dual Band device close to the thermostat for RF communication and the thermostat is Off.


Tue 09/04/2012 09:53:47 PM : ---- Initializing the linked devices ----

Tue 09/04/2012 09:53:47 PM : ---- All Linked Devices are now initialized ----

Tue 09/04/2012 09:53:47 PM : ---- Add remaining devices ----

Tue 09/04/2012 09:53:47 PM : [INST-TX-I1 ] 02 62 14 B9 7F 0F 0D 00

Tue 09/04/2012 09:53:47 PM : [INST-ACK ] 02 62 14.B9.7F 0F 0D 00 06 (00)

Tue 09/04/2012 09:53:56 PM : [INST-TX-I1 ] 02 62 14 B9 7F 0F 0D 00

Tue 09/04/2012 09:53:56 PM : [INST-ACK ] 02 62 14.B9.7F 0F 0D 00 06 (00)

Tue 09/04/2012 09:54:05 PM : [INST-TX-I1 ] 02 62 14 B9 7F 0F 0D 00

Tue 09/04/2012 09:54:05 PM : [INST-ACK ] 02 62 14.B9.7F 0F 0D 00 06 (00)

Tue 09/04/2012 09:54:09 PM : ---- All Remaining Device Added ----

Tue 09/04/2012 09:54:09 PM : [All ] Writing 0 bytes to devices


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2012 8:08 pm 
Offline
Advanced

Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2009 5:39 am
Posts: 9267
None of the commands sent to the thermostat get a response. Could be out of range of a Dual Band device. Try a factory reset of the thermostat and move an Access Point closer to the thermostat. Take care not to lose phase coupling in the process.

Also double check the Insteon address. Some times a B and 8 can look the same.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2012 10:33 pm 
Offline
Advanced

Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 10:47 am
Posts: 15935
And one more suggestion: if you have baby monitors, unplug them!

With kind regards,
Michel

_________________
Michel Kohanim
Universal Devices, Inc.
UDI Wiki
Submit a ticket


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2012 7:41 am 
Offline
Advanced

Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 9:27 pm
Posts: 104
LeeG wrote:
.....Try a factory reset of the thermostat and move an Access Point closer to the thermostat. Take care not to lose phase coupling in the process.

Also double check the Insteon address. Some times a B and 8 can look the same.


Hello all - sorry to be so long getting back to this but I need to get this figured out...
I did a factory reset of the thermostat and that didn't help...

the address I'm using is correct
everything is within five feet of each other and there are no baby monitors in the house...

*When I attempt to link using the "Add device" Method - the status window appears for a split second and nothing happens - no new device shows up in my device tree...
*When I attempt to link using the "Start Linking" Method - the PLM "buzzes" after i press the set button on the thermostat 3-5 seconds then goes quite and the green LED stops blinking (i think it goes out of linking mode)
When I choose "Remove Existing Links " and click "Finish" from the console the status window appears for a split second and nothing happens - no new device shows up in my device tree...

Thanks Again for you help
D


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2012 8:25 am 
Offline
Advanced

Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2009 5:39 am
Posts: 9267
When New INSTEON Device appears, then disappears immediately after clicking Ok the Insteon address is already known to the ISY.

Click on My Lighting

Click the Address column heading which will sort the display by Insteon Address. Check that thermostat address is not already in the list.

If not in the list run Tools | Diagnostics | Event Viewer at Level 3. Use New INSTEON Address to add the thermostat. Be sure thermostat is Off before attempting device add. Post the event trace.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2012 8:48 am 
Offline
Advanced

Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 9:27 pm
Posts: 104
Hey LeeG thanks for your response,

Its not in my list by address

here's the trace....

Sat 11/24/2012 09:44:42 AM : ---- Initializing the linked devices ----

Sat 11/24/2012 09:44:42 AM : ---- All Linked Devices are now initialized ----

Sat 11/24/2012 09:44:42 AM : ---- Add remaining devices ----

Sat 11/24/2012 09:44:42 AM : [INST-TX-I1 ] 02 62 14 B9 7F 0F 0D 00

Sat 11/24/2012 09:44:42 AM : [INST-ACK ] 02 62 14.B9.7F 0F 0D 00 06 (00)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:44:51 AM : [INST-TX-I1 ] 02 62 14 B9 7F 0F 0D 00

Sat 11/24/2012 09:44:51 AM : [INST-ACK ] 02 62 14.B9.7F 0F 0D 00 06 (00)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [INST-TX-I1 ] 02 62 00 00 16 CF 13 00

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [INST-TX-I1 ] 02 62 00 00 17 CF 13 00

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [INST-ACK ] 02 62 00.00.16 CF 13 00 06 LTOFFRR(00)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [Standard Msg. Handler] Unexpected Ack imCmd=62 cmd1=LTOFFRR 0x13

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:00 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [ Time] 09:45:01 9(0)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [INST-ACK ] 02 62 00.00.17 CF 13 00 06 LTOFFRR(00)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [Standard Msg. Handler] Unexpected Ack imCmd=62 cmd1=LTOFFRR 0x13

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:00 AM : [INST-TX-I1 ] 02 62 14 B9 7F 0F 0D 00

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:01 AM : [INST-ACK ] 02 62 14.B9.7F 0F 0D 00 06 (00)

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:05 AM : ---- All Remaining Device Added ----

Sat 11/24/2012 09:45:05 AM : [All ] Writing 0 bytes to devices


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2012 9:03 am 
Offline
Advanced

Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2009 5:39 am
Posts: 9267
Thanks for the additional event trace. The thermostat continues not to respond to commands. All commands sent to the thermostat fail to get any response. Do you have any RF devices such as a RemoteLinc or RemoteLinc2 that can be used near the thermostat location to see if RF communication from that location is seen by the ISY and PLM. There is nothing the ISY can do with a device that will not respond to any command.

Is the thermostat controlling the heating system correctly? I'm wondering if the thermostat is functional.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2012 4:05 pm 
Offline
Advanced

Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 9:27 pm
Posts: 104
yes the thermostat is controlling the hvac just fine - and following schedules just as programed


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Nov 24, 2012 4:06 pm 
Offline
Advanced

Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 9:27 pm
Posts: 104
I will post results from FR testing as soon as i get a RL up and running


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2012 6:54 am 
Offline
Advanced

Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2009 9:27 pm
Posts: 104
Interesting, I just attempted to link a remotelinc -and it shows up in my tree but i cant communicate with it... there are "!" marks beside each button...
I have the RL within a foot of an AP


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 27, 2012 7:45 am 
Offline
Advanced

Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2009 5:39 am
Posts: 9267
If the RemoteLinc was in linking mode by pressing the Dim/Bright buttons (RemoteLinc LED blinking) there is some RF or coupling issue. Perhaps the Access Point is not working. Try the 4 tap Set button test with that Access Point and verify it is in RF range and on opposite 120v leg to the other Access Point.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group