forum.universal-devices.com

Welcome to UDI Forum
It is currently Wed Apr 23, 2014 10:21 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 9:02 am 
Offline
Advanced

Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 8:07 am
Posts: 2396
http://www.lowes.com/cd_How+Iris+Works_379038320_

It looks like a whole series of products using zwave and zigbee. The switches are made by GE and are quite reasonably priced. Reliability and durability are ???. But it looks like this stuff is going more mainstream and it might be worth investing some work on UD's part to get ISY to be compatible with this stuff. I assume the zwave and zigbee modules for the 994i should be able integrate but may need some firmware revisions?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 11:55 am 
Offline
Advanced

Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 10:47 am
Posts: 15910
Hello apostolakisl,

Yes, we are working on the ZWave solution which we had to put on hold to fix i2cs things.

With kind regards,
Michel

_________________
Michel Kohanim
Universal Devices, Inc.
UDI Wiki
Submit a ticket


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 1:28 pm 
Online
Advanced

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 12:00 pm
Posts: 3186
Location: South East Connecticut
Some of the answers in the FAQ section of the Customer Support area are interesting.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 3:27 pm 
Offline
Advanced

Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 1:47 pm
Posts: 329
I will tell u my experiance with Z-wave. It was about 3-4 years ago when I started looking into home automation. I bought about 10 Intermatic Z-wave plugin devices the equivalent of an appliancelinc, with a couple of controller devices. My home at the time was 1 floor 20 x 60 feet and I had at least 1 device in each room. Each zwave device acts as a repeater, and is supposed to have a line of sight range of 100 feet. In my house all the devices were within about 10 feet from the next device except for one which was 20 feet away from the next one.

Nevertheless, I would say that the reliability was at less than 50 percent! In addition to some physical controllers & remotes I used a trial version of HomeSeer. I would do from HomeSeer an all on/all off in succession several times and each time about half of the devices at random -not even always the same ones- wouldn't respond.

I got so frustrated & disgusted that at the end of the 30 day trial period I packed everyting up & sent it back. I sent along a blueprint of my home & marked the exact location where each device was located just to show them how a device that should have worked even if I had only 2 devices one at each end of the house, didn't work with 10 repeater devices within 10 feet of each other.

It was afterwards that I bought some Insteon devices & have never looked back. It was like a breathe of fresh air. I was surprised to see how when you press on it just turns on each & every time without fail.

So a word to Michel:

I don't know if zwave became better since then, but I just felt that I should share with you my experience with Zwave. I would hate to see you spending time & resources on zwave compatibility on Insteon's expense. Insteon with all it's occasional issues is still pretty rock solid at least compared to ZWave.

Thanks

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 3:31 pm 
Online
Advanced

Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 12:00 pm
Posts: 3186
Location: South East Connecticut
When Intermatic dropped their Z-Wave Line of products.
I purchased a few modules from local Job Lot style store.
I also was not impressed with them.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 4:02 pm 
Offline
Advanced

Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2010 1:47 pm
Posts: 329
I would call "not impressed" an understatement... In my experience the reliability was even way worse of what I have read about X-10!

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2012 5:10 pm 
Offline
Advanced

Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 10:47 am
Posts: 15910
Hello hbsh01,

Thanks so very much for sharing your experience and furthermore your advice was right on!

Our ambitions for ZWave are very limited and mostly involving support for Door Locks which SmartHome does not have a good solution for. We have everything working just need the finishing touches to get everything (with INSTEON) working in unison.

Thanks again and with kind regards,
Michel

_________________
Michel Kohanim
Universal Devices, Inc.
UDI Wiki
Submit a ticket


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2012 6:27 am 
Offline
Advanced

Joined: Sat Jul 07, 2012 10:31 am
Posts: 690
Those prices are pretty competitive! I would love to see someone compete with Smarthome to the point it puts downward pressure on their prices. The Insteon products are priced high for what you get IMO. Other brands are even pricier.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:27 am 
Offline
Advanced

Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 10:47 am
Posts: 15910
Hi jmed999,

That's what I though at the first glance. This said, the system is pretty limited:
1. You always need to be connected to their server
2. You can only send one email to one person if you do not want to pay $9.99/month


In short, they are hoping that you would eventually sign up for their monthly plan ($120.00/year).

The jury is still out on who would be willing to pay monthly fees for something that's neither "essential" such as security system nor "entertainment" such as cable service. From what I have seen in my career, so far, all those who started with this premise either had to backtrack and provide a free service (limited) or simply stopped producing those products.

We shall see!

With kind regards,
Michel

_________________
Michel Kohanim
Universal Devices, Inc.
UDI Wiki
Submit a ticket


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2012 1:55 pm 
Offline
Advanced

Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 6:12 pm
Posts: 331
Michel Kohanim wrote:
Hello hbsh01,

Thanks so very much for sharing your experience and furthermore your advice was right on!

Our ambitions for ZWave are very limited and mostly involving support for Door Locks which SmartHome does not have a good solution for. We have everything working just need the finishing touches to get everything (with INSTEON) working in unison.

Thanks again and with kind regards,
Michel


Insteon with Zwave locks...Patiently waiting.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2012 8:57 pm 
Offline
Intermediate

Joined: Sun May 01, 2011 1:42 pm
Posts: 69
Michel Kohanim wrote:
Hello hbsh01,

Thanks so very much for sharing your experience and furthermore your advice was right on!

Our ambitions for ZWave are very limited and mostly involving support for Door Locks which SmartHome does not have a good solution for. We have everything working just need the finishing touches to get everything (with INSTEON) working in unison.

Thanks again and with kind regards,
Michel


Michel,

I would be great if you could possibly add thermostats to that list as well.

I installed the GE Simon wireless system partly because I could link Trane zwave thermostats and get connectivity through the Alarm.com internet monitoring capability.

Of course this was BEFORE I added the ISY-99i to my insteon system!

But then again, there appears to be some newer insteon models that may be better than the original Venstars.

Either way, keep up the great work!

Regards,

Ross Armstrong


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 19, 2012 10:00 pm 
Offline
Advanced

Joined: Tue May 29, 2007 10:47 am
Posts: 15910
Mr. Armstrong,

Trane thermostats are OEMed from RCS and RCS thermostat support is on our list.

With kind regards,
Michel

_________________
Michel Kohanim
Universal Devices, Inc.
UDI Wiki
Submit a ticket


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 20, 2012 8:52 am 
Offline
Intermediate

Joined: Sun May 01, 2011 1:42 pm
Posts: 69
Excellent news Michel!

Once you release your Zwave support, an upgrade of my ISY-99i to the 994i will definitely be in order.

Best regards,

Ross Armstrong


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 08, 2012 11:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Dec 08, 2012 11:38 pm
Posts: 1
Hi Folks

I'm trying to figure out how to add an IRIS Smart Plug to a Vera Lite controller. It must be something simple, but it's not just a single push of the activation button while in Pairing Mode with the Vera controller.

Has anyone tried to add this device to a Vera Lite controller from Micasaverde.com ?

Ron


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 10, 2013 9:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 9:05 am
Posts: 3
I think I'll bump this to the top.

I went to Lowe's yesterday and they are selling a lot of devices and they are similar or cheaper prices than SmartHome. The display has a bunch of devices (outlets, switches, motion sensors, open/close sensors, thermostats, locks) that all have a "compatible with Iris" logo on them. I'm wondering if they are standard z-wave devices, or whether they are somehow crippled/modified to work only with Iris.

The open/close sensor would be neat because I have a window-mounted whole house fan that I use to either heat up the house in the Fall (outside temp > inside temp) or cool down in the Summer (outside temp < inside temp), but it can only run when the window is open. I could even send a text when the fan should be running, but the window is closed.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group