Schlage Lock, ISY and KPLs, Oh My

glw35

Hi everyone - I'm new to the ISY, Z-Wave and the forum.  I've had an ad-hoc Insteon setup for years and have been quite pleased with its functionality.

Though I recognize the endless possibilities of the ISY and HA in general, my initial goal in getting the ISY (994iZW) was very modest - to add functionality to a z-wave deadbolt without getting a Nexia controller and sub.

Relevant Equipment:

Schlage BE-369 (non-motorized deadbolt)

KPL - 6 Button

ISY (Obviously)

My goals are:

1. Notify upon unlock (via email or sms) with user id  

2. User specific triggers upon unlock - Hall Lights on for User 1 (as an example)

3. Light specific KPL button upon unlock.

I could write a novel about what I've discovered and break this into at least 3 posts but I want to try and keep it concise for now - That is going to be a challenge.

The short story is - I have been unable to completely accomplish any of these.

First, discovery and config were a snap.  Everything, both Insteon and Z-wave appear to have been properly discovered.

My first issue is the nature of the non-motorized deadbolt.  The first thing I did was create a program that...

If unlocked via user code 1, send notification and turn on light.  Here's the first issue.

Unlike what I've read in the forum previously, my state and control are backward. (for me, state is 'unlocked' and control is Access Code - that's okay, but different behavior than most have already experienced.  Here's the issue.

Since I had a condition for both state is unlock and access code=1, it always failed and I couldn't figure out why.  Turns out that since unlock isn't automatic, these can never fire together.  When a user enters their code, that condition immediately triggers as true but the lock always shows as locked so that condition is always false.  By the time the user turns the bolt and changes state to unlocked, the condition has completed so ultimately fails.