ISY 99i + PLM 2412S + Insteon Thermostat 2441V (Venstar)

hjbleier

Hi I was just wanted to know if I need anything else to talk to my Venstar T-Stat remotely. I looked at the directions and they talk about linking it to a RemoteLinc. Can it talk to the PLM 2412S that came with my ISY or do I have to install a RemoteLinc? or other devices? I am new to this Insteon stuff, all I have ever used was LonTalk and BacNet. But I would like to try this Insteon Power Line and RF stuff. Sounds like it will be easier once I am done with the learning-curve for the smaller installations.

Thanks,

Howard

Hi Howard -

Do you already have a pair of AccessPoints installed? If not, you will need at least one installed. I would recommend 2. AccessPoints allow your INSTEON RF devices to communicate back and forth with powerline devices. They also act as a bridge between the 2 legs of power in your home.

http://www.smarthome.com/2443P/Access-P ... ack/p.aspx

Other than the AccessPoint, you should be good to go.

• 7 months later...

Hello,

I just installed a Venstar T1700 1-Day thermostat and 2441V RF Adapter. Also, I have SignalLinc RF, not Access Point.

I can't get it to link to ISY 99i (1020) with v2.7.0 firmware.

When using Link Management | Start Linking, the Level 3 log says:

[LNK-BGN ] 02 64 01 00 06

---- Initializing the linked devices ----

---- All Linked Devices are now initialized ----

[LNK-END ] 02 65 06 : : Unexpected, ignored (65)

I tried the factory reset and it flashed the thermostat display, the light went out for a few seconds, and then came back on.

When attempting to link, it *doesn't* flash the display (although the instructions says it will).

Do you think I have a defective RF adapter? Are there any troubleshooting tips I can follow? Do I need a newer firmware version? Do SignalLincs work or does it require Access Point?

Thanks

Mark

• 5 months later...
Hi robertarak,

The differences pertain to the number of stages of heating and cooling.