insteon noob setup questions

dgeist

So, I'm an engineer but am brand-new to insteon and my ISY994 system. I just got my first pair of switchlink 2477D dimmers and installed them in my dining room. I wired one to control the load and the other as a a simple remote on the same branch circuit. The first worked immediately and flawlessly. The second worked after performing the group "pairing" with the little buttons on the units.

Now, I want to start setting up my dual-band PLM that I bought and the ISY. Well, networking and java issues were there, but not hard, and I learned the hard way that you have to power the ISY with the serial cable from the PLM plugged in. Now I'm getting info on the PLM in the diagnostic tools menu of the admin console, but the "New Insteon Device" dialog keeps failing. I'm using the hex digits off the front of the units, selecting 2477D from the pull-down, and putting in a readable name (like "DR Dimmer 1") in the name field, but it just goes for 30 seconds and gives me a failure code "Error Discovering nodes; Retry;" Am I doing something wrong here? Where do I even start troubleshooting. It's not like there's a "getting started setting up a few basic devices" Howto that I can find. It's really frustrating for someone who just needs a decent set of instructions.

Thanks

Dan

The PLM could be on one phase and the SwitchLincs on the other. Has the 4 tap set button test been run to see if the PLM reaches the SwitchLincs over RF?

Also note that when the SwitchLincs are added to the ISY select the first option that erases existing links. Set button linking should not be done as the ISY does not know about them. Once the Insteon network is operational create an ISY Scene and cross-link the devices that way.

The PLM could be on one phase and the SwitchLincs on the other. Has the 4 tap set button test been run to see if the PLM reaches the SwitchLincs over RF?