Motion Sensor 2842-222 programming

KeithM

I am relatively new to Insteon and ISY programming. I have set up a small home automation network based upon the ISY994IRPRO controller, and with a mix of dual band switches and key pads, mini-remotes, moisture detector, etc. I have a reasonable amount of real-time programming experience from the past, and have been largely able to figure out the ISY programming concepts and most details. But it has been a bit of a struggle at times. My perception is that the documentation is at times a bit vague or incomplete, and sometimes it takes trial and error to finally figure things out. (An example would be that you can set up a custom email notification with a subject and blank body with no error message, but then that email will never be sent by a Notification since a blank body is not allowed, but there is no error message not any obvious documentation to that effect). I will note my various such learnings along the way and forward for potential inclusion in a future update of documentation. But I digress - back to the current issue. 

I have recently added three 2842-222 motion sensors to monitor various indoor and exterior locations and trigger. They do not directly control any responders - all control actions are made through the ISY programming. In some areas the detailed documentation (at least what I can find) is vague or I can't find it, and hence I am looking for some guidance from the forum community.