KeypadLinc programming buttons as scene off

kwindrem

I'm new to Insteon and ISY but getting the hang of things.

I like to program separate on/off buttons especially for lights you can't see from a KeypadLinc. This generally works fine with the following exceptions.

1) If I set up the upper left button as ON for the local device and the one to it's right for OFF, pressing the OFF button does turn the light off but the OFF button flashes a few times and remains off. If I trigger the off from the ISY admin console or another KeypadLinc, the OFF button does light. I have double checked the scene programming however there is no entry under the off button (set up as controller) for that button itself. E.g.:

Deck On scene:

Deck.On (local device): 100%

Deck.Off : 0%

Deck Off scene:

Deck.On: 0%

Deck.Off: 100%

Deck.Off details (copied from Deck Off scene)

Deck.On: 0%

Deck.Off --- not in this section

2) If I have a SwitchLinc or a 6-button KeypadLinc in the same scene as two buttons on another KeypadLinc, the OFF buttons on the SwitchLinc or KeypadLinc turn the "on" scene off as expected but since the OFF button lights in other KeypadLincs turn on when the "off" scene is turned on, these buttons don't light. Essentially, I can't find a way for a dedicated off button to turn a scene on.

Is there any way to get around these issues?

I wouldn't mind having all OFF buttons always off but I've tried to program scenes that way and had problems where the off buttons would light when pressing that button.

Is there a better way to deal with on and off than having separate scenes? (I can't find a way to set up a button to turn a scene off.)

Create a scene with the Off button as a trigger to turn the scene on. One restriction is that the Off button of a 6-button KPL cannot turn on the load of that same KPL.

pressing the OFF button does turn the light off but the OFF button flashes a few times and remains off.