Concurrent "Run Program"

bktong

Need some help with ISY programming language.  I have been using ISY for a few years and computer programmer by trade.  Some top-down design programming languages execute a statement then the next.  If a function or a sub-program is called, normally it runs the next statement after the function or sub-program is done.  However, I notice the RUN PROGRAM in ISY language executes as soon as the calling program is started.  It doesn't execute one statement after another.  I know I can put a WAIT statement to wait for the called program to complete.  

For example, I want to assign a variable after a RUN PROGRAM statement.  The program calculates some values but the variable has assigned a wrong number because the program right before the assignment statement is still running.   I even put Wait statement in the called program doesn't help.  

Is ISY programming language working as designed? I assume if I have multiple RUN PROGRAM statements within a program, all of them would run concurrently? 

If

Time is 12:00AM

Then

Run Program 'Calc Temperture' (Then Path)

$Variable = $Cur_Temp

Else

- No Actions

The $Variable would get $Cur_Temp from last night or last run of the program.  

Is WAIT statement the only way to control the run sequence?  

Thanks. 

Fireware v.5.0.12 and UI also is v.5.0.12. 

I don't believe that you can assume that the "run program 'calc temperature' (then path)" must complete before the variable is updated.  A wait statement could work, but you may also try a third program:

if

time is 12am

then

run program calc temperature then path

else nothing

Add to the calc temperature program an action such as:

"run third program (then path)

Create a third program

if

nothing

then

$Variable = $Cur_Temp