Multiple Devices turn on, but should not...

I have been using the ISY for a few years now and up until now have had no issues.

I bought a few of the Insteon Mini Remotes and am having difficulties with one button's programming.  Here's the setup.  I have one of those ubiquitous multi headed couch lights and it is plugged into a lamp dimmer module.  At this point all I desire is to just turn it on and off.  I have an on/off wall switch in the kitchen that is also on the keypad, separate button.

Both function correctly if controlled by the PC software.

The kitchen light will turn on and off correctly from the mini remote by pressing the associated button.  However pressing the button programmed for the couch light, will cause the kitchen light to come on as well.  They both turn off when this button is pressed.

To say the least I am baffled.

Bill

Well....assuming that you have not inadvertently created any scenes or programs that would cause this, and given that you are not too far along yet, my recommendation is that you remove your three insteon devices (switch, remote, lamp dimmer) from the ISY and factory reset all (not the ISY).    Add all three back to ISY.  Confirm nothing controls nothing.  Start adding scenes back as desired, checking along the way that things are working as they should.

The theory here is that, sometimes, things come from the factory not entirely cleared of memory and may be causing unexpected problems.

If you are unsure about scenes or programs, feel free to post an image of either.  Make sure your scene for kitchen has only one button for controller and switch as responder.  For your couch lights, a different (and only one) button for controller and dimmer module as responder. When you turn on from the admin console, make sure you are doing so by turning on the scene rather than by individual devices.