Trying to get this going...noob problems...

EagleAye

I have never worked with a Raspberry Pi before, but used to be heavily into computers, so I am not exactly dense. I started playing with the Polyglot and Nodeservers on a Pi, and have effectively got them up and running with a STEEP learning curve (and I am pretty good at old DOS commands and programming/networking).

I am trying desperately to configure udi-camera-polyglot to see what it is capable of doing. I even bought a newer Amcrest ip4m-1026w (looks like Foscam and Amcrest are now one) to play with.

I have tried every way from Sunday to follow and configure the rather cryptic instructions. I am new to Raspberry Pi, so, yes, some things that are a 'given' may not always be for me.

I tried to force in Python Amcrest (referenced in udi-camera-polyglot instructions) and it appeared to go into the Raspberry Pi, but where I have no clue. When I follow the instructions for PyPI it all goes smooth until I try and 'enable amcrest-cli autocomplete in the system' which gives me a permission denied. Everything else worked, so the upper level permissions are already in force (that took a bit also).

Anyway, in udi-camera-polyglot if I search for Foscam, turn it off, configure Amcrest multiple ways, I get no camera info in the isy.

Anyone want to take a shot at helping out a noob to get this rammed in so I can see what the capabilities are? Just getting frustrated, and I am sure it is something simple.

Thank You.

The camera nodeserver allows you to enable/disable arming, email, and go to presets, ....  I used it heavily before I got Blue Iris, now that I have that, I haven't even had time to complete configuring all my new cams and start using the nodeserver.

Anyway, Foscam and Amcrest are not the same, although they are similar, firmware is very different.  I never got automatic discovery working for Amcrest, so you just have to manually add one as described: