Time waits for no-one... KPL-8 used as timer

poetaaron

Hi! Thank you for offering up some of your experience and knowledge to us newbies. I haven't used an isy994i in a long time, and the last time it was using Indigo on a macbook about 6 years ago. I have very little experience writing programs but am very familiar with Insteon devices. Today, no Macbook, no Indigo.

I have a specific problem I'm trying to solve. If you can help me with this I would be so grateful.

Devices:
Controller:  8-button KeypadLinc (7)
Responder: SwitchLinc Dimmer Switch (14)

I want to use each column of buttons on the keypads as a timer control for a single LED light, controlled by a SwitchLinc Dimmer. I set the toggle on the KeypadLincs to ON only so that each press should start a timer that turns on a light as follows: (there's even more excitement at the end...)

Left side of KeypadLinc 1 controls LED 1
A= 30 mins
C= 60 mins
E= 90 mins
G= 120 mins

Right side of KeypadLinc 1 controls LED 2
B= 30 mins
D= 60 mins
F= 90 mins
H= 120 mins
etc...

and now for the highlight:  I would also like the light to flash on and off 8-10 times, 5 minutes before it turns off.   

Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance!

This was a duplicate post from @poetaaron

•  

Here is how I would do it.
I would create 8 scenes, each containing only one KPL LED = On

Then I would create four programs for each side like this
If
    $sLED1.timer >= 90
Then
   set ledG.scene On
Else
   set ledG.scene Off

If
    $sLED1.timer >= 60
Then
   set ledE.scene On
Else
   set ledE.scene Off

If
    $sLED1.timer >= 30
Then
   set ledC.scene On
Else
    set ledC.scene Off

If
    $sLED1.timer > 0
Then
   set ledA.scene On
Else
    set ledA.scene Off

Set up a program to decrement the timer state variable $sLED1.timer by 1 minute each repeat as in other variable based timer programs.
Turn off the LED bulb when 0 is reached.