Problems linking a new device (TriggerLinc)

wwat

Hi,

I'm hoping someone can shed some light on what may have happened when attempting to link a new TriggerLinc.

First off my wireless communication is quite stable now with 4 AP's and a SignalLinc in medium sizes home of about 2.5k sq/ft, 2 levels in a boxy configuration.

Put TL into link mode and in direct site of an AP, tried to link using the 1st option (remove existing links) but constantly received the following error:

[-110012] Couldn't open config file to read[/conf/f490c.rec]

[-200000] Failed writing device link[testtrigger-opened]

I then tried the 3rd option and all hell broke loose. I've never tried that option before, it seemed to take forever going through many links but it still didn't work. After this option appeared to complete I started getting weird issues. I shut down ISY Admin, cleared Java cache and re-opened and still had problems with many devices, ISY reported errors saying it could not read their files. May of the device links were missing from the ISY table. I had to remove all the affected devices, set them back to factory default and re-link them, fix all the programs that no longer worked etc etc.

All this happened just to add a TriggerLinc.

What can cause this type of problem? my initial thoughts are Anti-virus or firewall programs. If so what is the best practice regarding shutting them down and under what circumstances should they be closed.

I finally got everything working again including the TriggerLinc (using option 1) but I want to avoid this mess in future. There is no way I would ever chose option 3 again unless I could be sure it would not cause the same problem. Is it suppose to take a long time to run just to add a single TL.

Could this be a Alpha 2.7.10 issue.

Thanks,

Hi wwat,