Jump to content

Moving From Trial To Paid Node Server


upstatemike

Recommended Posts

I just got a reminder that my trial will expire tomorrow and that I need to purchase the Elk PG3 Node server. I went through the purchase process and got a reminder that after the purchase I need to reinstall with the paid version. I hit install and selected "install into the same slot" and everything seemed to go OK except when the Node Server restarted I got a bunch of messages saying it could not start because configuration was not complete. I looked at the configuration and sure enough all the fields were blank and I had to scramble to find all that info again since nothing had warned me that it would be erased so I did not jot it down before installing the paid version.

My questions are:

Did I do something wrong that caused me to lose the configuration when moving to the paid version?

If not, isn't there a way to make the transition to paid Node Servers preserve the configuration?

If not, couldn't a warning popup be put into the upgrade process to let you know you need to write down your configuration information and add it back after the licensing is finished?

I think I got the right info back into configuration but now I have to do some testing to be sure since I seem to recall there were quirks about my settings to get it working before. Was not expecting to have to do this.

Link to comment

Sorry about that.  You didn't do anything wrong. A re-install is not supposed to touch the configuration but that was added to a fairly recent version of PG3 (3.1.12).  In my limited testing, it seemed to leave the parameters in-tact when re-installing but there could be a bug.

  • Like 2
Link to comment
Guest
This topic is now closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...