status of 2856S3B

detrotdr

I'm fairly new to Insteon.

When I manually turn a light switch on (from the switch itself) the software (Iniversal Devices Administrative Console) shows the state change from on to off.. or visa versa. (NO QUERY IS SET by me)

When I use a controller that is linked to the light switch the software does not actively show the change. I need to requery.

why?

and how do I get the light switch to broadcast its new state...

(I don't understand why it would just because a controller told it to change verses me touching it)

I've tried light switches and appliance modules.. the software does the same thing to both.

Thank-you in advance.

I just used a Smarthome ControLinc 2430 and press Button #5 ON for 10 sec.

It goes into "link mode".

then I went to the switch and press the light in for 3 seconds until it beeped.

the controller turns the light on and off by press ON / OFF

I also did the same thing with an appliance module.

Inside the software when press #5 on.. the light turns on, but sofware still says OFF. If I go over to the switch and press ON, the software says on. If I turn the switch off (manually) the software says off.

the software does not change states if I use the 2430 controller to turn the light on or off.. unless I say QUERY.

same example for the appliance module.

:<

All Scenes (links) must be done by the ISY for it to be aware of device state changes by another device.

Don't know how far you have gone with establishing manual links outside of the ISY. Suggest deleting all the devices from the ISY, doing factory reset on the devices (NOT the ISY), add the devices back deleting existing links. Then use ISY Scenes to link devices together.

Do not do manual linking outside of the ISY.

Forgive my ignorance... (I am new to insteon... but know X10 well)

I have no scenes. I linked everything in the software.

-I wired the light switch

-went to ISY console and clicked Start Linking