Frustrated.....Elk M1gold and a temperature detector

Spartan

Hello everyone..........newbie here go slow on the beatings!

I have an M1gold installed at my business. What I want to do is get a phone call when the boiler is running because it's so old, that it sometimes forgets to fire up....just like it's owner.

What I did was install a normally closed bimetal heat contact. It's a simple sensor that when heated, snaps open and and breaks the circuit. Then it closes again when it cools. It mounted on the boiler flue.

I have set it as non-alarm, EOL supervised. When I first tried it, it worked with these rules......

WHENEVER Boiler Room Temp (Zn 15) is NOT SECURE

THEN DIAL xxxx (x-xxx-xxx-xxxx) AND ANNOUNCE MISCELLANEOUS 10 (vm248)

So I wrote some rules for it so it doesn't terrorize me day and night.

WHENEVER Area 1 is Armed Away

AND Boiler Room Temp (Zn 15) is NOT SECURE

AND TIME OF DAY IS LATER THEN 1:00 AM

AND TIME OF DAY IS EARLIER THEN 2:00 AM

THEN DIAL xxxx (x-xxx-xxx-xxxx) AND ANNOUNCE MISCELLANEOUS 10 (vm248)

THEN BYPASS Boiler Room Temp (Zn15)

Then waited for the phone call and NOTHING happened. Is there a sequence to the time? Or did it get confused with the bypass?

Is there a way to time out a zone after it calls you? Let's say I want it to ring me once and then go dormant for 8 hours? Because the boiler is set on on timer, it will come on for an hour at midnight and then another hour during the morning. I can cheat by mounting a second contact with it's own rules, BUT, is there a better way?

OR..is there a way to check a zone from the phone? The only way I know now is to buy an ELK temperature detector and simply ask it what the temperature is. Since I want to automate the start up of some of my equipment at work and they work past the Elk temperature range, I need to have some way of knowing if the equipment reached operating temperature.

HELP! :cry: