Elk Lighting Rule

automateme

Might be the incorrect place to ask this, but I thought that I would try here first.

I now have my 99i communicating with my M1G, and my M1G installation mostly complete. I am new to the M1G and created a simple rule, that unfortunately does not work properly. All I wanted was for my Door motion sensor to turn on my Porch Light for a short while after dark. The Rule was:

Whenever Zone(Motion) is un-secure

AND It is dark

AND Porch Light is Off

THEN Turn on Porch Light for 5 minutes

The Porch Light correctly comes on when there is motion at the door after dark, but it never turns off. Any thoughts?

I think there is still problems witht he ISY/ELK integration as it relates to timed lighting events. I recall it was a problem on the Elk side but I am not 100% sure.

I got around this by using the virtual outputs. Any outputs that are not allocated to a physical output, can be used as a sort of on/off variable. Basically when I turn a light on, I also turn a virtual output on for the time I want. Then I have another rule that when the output turns off (after the time expires), this off transition tells the light to turn off.

AND It is dark

AND Porch Light is Off

THEN Turn on Porch Light

THEN turn output 208 on for 5 minutes

Whenever Output 208 State Is Turned Off

Then Turn off Porch Light

I used this for all my doors to the outside and it works well.

• 2 weeks later...
  • 1 year later...

"I think there is still problems witht he ISY/ELK integration as it relates to timed lighting events. I recall it was a problem on the Elk side but I am not 100% sure."

Is this still an issue? Going to give mohansen's solution a try, but just wanted to check to see if it has been resolved.

I had this same problem and called Elk about it. They told me to do the same thing about turning an unused output on for the time period and then having a second rule that turns the light off when the timer on the output ends.