Insteon Motion Sensor Dusk/dawn Node

shannong

I have a few of the Insteon Motion Sensors and this is my first time using them. I'm having difficulty with the Dusk.Dawn node. I thought the sensor would detect night/day illuminance and that node would reflect that. However, the ISY is not getting any messages for it from the sensor and doesn't have a Current State for it.

I tried putting it in my coat pocket for a few minutes and nada. I have tried both Night Modes and nothing. So I thought maybe the sensor was DOA but I tried another with the same result. I've tested with the sensitivity set to 5 and 250 and with no change in behavior.

I know it's not a comm issue because the motion "Sensor" node is getting updates from it.

Any guidance or extra info would helpful.

State changes to the dusk.dawn node take 3.5 minutes to flip. Put the sensor in the dark for at least 3.5 mins to test.

-Xathros

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

The lower the sensitivity the darker to trigger Dusk/Dawn.

The motion sensor will trigger in both modes.

For a test I set sensitivity to 120, Night Mode: Always checked. It took 4 minutes under bright light before motion sensor turned Dusk/Dawn Off

Why not just use a sunrise sunset time plus some time? I have all my motion based lights programed like that. Are you trying to use a scene instead of a program? I'm still learning the best ways to use these devices, so sorry if my questions are basic.

Why not just use a sunrise sunset time plus some time? I have all my motion based lights programed like that. Are you trying to use a scene instead of a program? I'm still learning the best ways to use these devices, so sorry if my questions are basic.

I, too, prefer the reliability of sunset/sunrise times, but I can see where there is value in making adjustments for cloudy days and mornings. It might be nice to have lights on earlier if it gets dark early due to cloud cover.