GDO Light Program - Status / Control?

Teken

I have a Liftmaster 3800 GDO which has a remote light. The remote light has started to stay on well past the internal timer limit. The only way to turn off the light is to turn off the breaker which resets the light.

I have since installed an old Appliance Linc to turn the remote light on / off so energy is not wasted. The program below is what I crafted but wanted to confirm that it would operate as expected.

I would like the remote light to stay on for whatever XX minutes ( Below I selected 3 minutes just for an example for the program ). The program will then wait 3 minutes and kill the power to the remote light.

2 seconds later the program will turn the Appliance Linc back on, and stay on.

My question is should the (IF) statement use the Status or Control operator? I ask because I want to ensure the program does not run non stop, cycling forever. I only want it to run when the GDO opens, closes, then the program does its portion once the GDO is down and closed.

If

Status  'IO Linc Garage Door-Sensor' is Off

Then

Wait  3 minutes 

Set 'Garage Ceiling Light' Off

Wait  2 seconds

Set 'Garage Ceiling Light' On

Else

- No Actions - (To add one, press 'Action')

Teken . . .

Hi Teken-

In this instance, I don't believe it matters.  Either control or status will achieve the same result.  Only difference is that when using Status, the program will trigger on both door open and close.  On open, it will run the empty Else clause and have no effect.  On close it will run Then and do what you want.  With Control, it should only trigger on the door closing.

If you get some sensor bounce when the door is moving near the sensor, control might cause a false "Closed" trigger when opening the door while status would correct itself once the door moves away from the sensor.  I would stick with Status in this case.

Hope this helps.

-Xathros

Hi Teken-