FanLinc Questions

JWBDolphins

I'm not sure if this is the right forum for this question, but I think if anyone will know the answer to this it is here.  Also, I'm not an electrical engineer so my terms may not be quite right.  I'm looking at buying a FanLinc module and have a couple questions.

My first question is how does the FanLinc module power the different fan speeds, with variable voltage or full voltage pulses?  This question comes from electric trains where originally the speed control was a rheostat and as the voltage increased, the motor ran faster and the train speed increased.  Then DCC came along where the train motor was hit with pulses of full voltage and then no voltage to vary the speed.  So for instance, at Low Speed the motor would receive ON OFF OFF ON OFF OFF, etc.  Medium Speed you could have ON OFF ON OFF, and High Speed would simply be full ON.  My understanding is that it is a lot easier on a motor to be powered this way than it is to run a motor with variable voltage.  I also believe  this might reduce heat buildup.

My current fan control is a 4 position (including Off) rheostat so I know the fan speeds change by varying the voltage.  I Assume the FanLinc works this way too and the FanLinc module looks to have a lot of vent holes in it.  Does anyone know if this is how the FanLinc works?

Secondly, the "Low", "Medium", and "High" settings in the FanLinc - are these User Configurable?  As in "Slow can by 10% or maybe 25%, Medium 50%, 60%, 67%, and High say 75% or 100%" or are the 3 speeds fixed values?

My thought here is if the FanLinc uses the "pulse" method, then you could probably end up with a wide range of user settable speeds without a lot of worry about frying the fan's motor.

Rheostats have not been in use as a motor controller for quite a few years. How did you determine that your speed control is a rheostat? Is the speed control part of the fan (i.e, in the canopy) or external?