Thinking about getting a whole house surge protector

baabm

I have been using insteon and ISY-994i for several years, most recently in a home in Tampa, FL. While we were away this summer, several large storms kept knocking circuit breakers off line and I lost (as a minimum) the PLM that works with the ISY, so when I came home, nothing worked. I replaced the PLM and am still troubleshooting other devices but i am thinking about having a whole house surge protector installed in the main junction box. Does anyone have any thoughts on the effectiveness of this to prevent future loss of equipment or on any detrimental effect it may have on my home automation system (for the most part, I have fairly new dual band devices).

Thanks

I have been using insteon and ISY-994i for several years, most recently in a home in Tampa, FL. While we were away this summer, several large storms kept knocking circuit breakers off line and I lost (as a minimum) the PLM that works with the ISY, so when I came home, nothing worked. I replaced the PLM and am still troubleshooting other devices but i am thinking about having a whole house surge protector installed in the main junction box. Does anyone have any thoughts on the effectiveness of this to prevent future loss of equipment or on any detrimental effect it may have on my home automation system (for the most part, I have fairly new dual band devices).

Thanks

Some analysis really needs to be done to determine where the disturbance came into the house and where it went out. Surge protectors cannot typically protect against surges. All sounds like terminology but most are just spike clippers and mislabelled. It is not likely you could protect your self from surge on the grid without tens of thousands of dollars worth of isolation transformers and UPS equipment.