Insteon vs ZWave for newly acquired vacation home

kck

So I have had an ISY/Insteon system running in my home for number of years successfully.  Now we are about to buy a vacation home in the desert that I am interested in at least partially automating.  I could, of course, just go with what I know and use Insteon stuff everywhere but the long term trendline would seem to be toward zwave product and the multi-vendor ecosystem there should produce more competition/innovation in the long run.  So what do folks here think are the pros/cons for making a decision now on this.  Are the zwave products now the right was to invest in things?  (I'll still get an ISY controller either way.)  Experience or general opinions welcomed!

Thanks.

I was going to mention a boathouse but "Desert"....LOL

I will mention an outbuilding may work better with Insteon and it's long distance powerline capabilities over Zwave.

I have no Zwave or experience with it but repeaters needed may be a a factor for some distance.

I think if you so equip the ISY Series Controller with Z-Wave the world is your oyster and can select hardware that meets your specific needs.

Z-Wave is the clear winner in terms of locks and TSTAT's at the moment.

Personally, I haven't seen any Z-Wave products that meet my needs for light switches or KPL's. Currently there isn't very many Z-Wave devices that offer instant status and for me that's a no starter.

Query / Polling to know the current live status of a device is so 1980.

Teken,

What do you mean by instant status.  Do you mean that if you flip the zwave switch the ISY won't know that until the next time it asks that switch???  That would seem to make no sense.

Teken,

What do you mean by instant status.  Do you mean that if you flip the zwave switch the ISY won't know that until the next time it asks that switch???  That would seem to make no sense.

1980s. Isn't that brand dependent also?