This Device is not Supported

robandcathy1

so with the new email about alexa voice, I was excited to try it out, did some research and trouble shooting. I was able for the most part get pretty far, here is where I stand. im on ver 5.0.13D I have 33 devices, my isy portal is linked (and has been for a year) voice commands work with alexa (well as good as possible) I can control all devices via the alexa app so far all is good, but since today is sat I decided to try to set up alexa to talk back as outlined in email a few days ago. reading that things had to be switch or motion,changed the status of a light switch from light to contact, had error this device is not supported. rediscovered devices and same issue. Tried same with another switch and again the error. Now im by no means a programmer and was trying to keep it simple at first eg. set switch up and if pressed alexa would say xxx is on. So if that worked I would venture on and experiment further. So any help getting this fixed would be great.

I also mentioned this in past it might be a great idea that there could be a section for people less knowledgeable about programming  to be able to hire someone with skills to write more complex skills and get paid via paypal or something. Better yet RDP into a system and help clean up stuff or troubleshoot outside normal udi business hours. Me personally work during those same hours so it difficult to call. Again thanks in advanced

EDIT as I was on phone with Amazon went back to give them the error and it started working, their answer is it takes servers up to 24  hours to register the changes. Amazingly you can buy and pay for items in seconds

1 hour ago, robandcathy1 said: