Feature request: generic multiplexed devices in ISY portal

apnar

I find one of the greatest additions Amazon did to the smart home section was adding the ability to map a light to a specific echo so you can simply say "Alexa, turn on the lights" and it works in any room.  I'd love to see that functionality expanded, in particular to things like "fan" or "TV" or any number of other words but doubt they'll add too many more.

I'm not an Alexa developer but poked around a bit and believe they added something like an echo device ID to each request sent.  That should let an app know which device a request is coming from.  (If I'm wrong about that of course the rest of this isn't doable)  I envision something like being able to create a generic multiplexed device in the ISY Portal.  Then in the ISY portal being able to configure that generic device to map to a specific real device/scene/etc. based on the specific echo that made the request.  You could also provide for assigning default real device or defaulting to a no-op.

There'd be a little bit of work in populating the list of device IDs originally but I figure any time a request comes in for any generic device the specific echo device ID gets added to the list of known device IDs and is then available for mapping in all generic devices.  You could make it easier to give friendly names to the device IDs by highlighting the last device ID to make a request.  It wouldn't take too long for folks to build up the library of known device IDs.

So as an example I have 2 echos with device IDs AAAA and BBBB.  AAAA is in the family room and BBBB is in the living room.  I create a device in the ISY portal called "fan".  Then in the ISY portal I map any requests for "fan" from AAAA to control the family room fan and any requests coming from BBBB to control the living room fan.

On 11/16/2018 at 11:09 AM, apnar said: