Insteon and LED lights question

ingeborgdot

I don't think that there is an absolute answer, and there are several questions:

2 hours ago, ingeborgdot said:

LED lights cause insteon switches to wear out faster. 

I don't know why that would be as a sweeping statement for all LEDs. I've had LED bulbs of different types on varying ages of Insteon dimmer switches for ~8 years... switchlincs, togllincs, inlinelincs, keypadlincs and lamplics. Some of the lamplincs and inlinelincs are original first generation. No switch failures related to LEDs that I'm aware of

Or is he full of it? 

I'm not an electrician. Can he provide a technical reason and links to stories, research that prove this out?  Insteon switches can have problems and go bad, but nothing tied to LED bulbs in general.

Are insteon switches fully compatible with LED?

LEDs have different designs. Some work better than others. I've been lucky in that of the ~20 that I've had, they work. There are stories of different brands/models flickering, not dimming evenly etc. While I think less of that has been happening as the LED bulb design has matured, probably some still have problems.

If you're planning to buy a large number at one time, I would suggest first buying one or two of the brands you're targeting and try them our first, rather than finding out the hard way and having to deal with "spouse approval factor problems" from problems with lights and dealing with returns.

Paul

Can't say for presently sold LED bulbs.

I know some of the earlier ones had a Inrush current when turned On and a Repetitive peek current when running. Some LED bulb manufacturers use to give you a wattage number to determine how many of their bulbs could be on a dimmer. At one time I had some that where 6 watts but the manufacturer said use 80 watts when calculating  loads on a dimmer.

"...wear out faster..."