Passwords and Other Information Backed Up in Plain Text

dnl

I am new to ISY and to this forum so I may be writing about a topic that has been discussed before. Sorry if I am addressing old issues -- I did not find anything on this topic.

I am a curious person who looks into things to see how they work. I examined the ZIPPED files in an ISY backup and was surprised to see the ISY logon id, logon password and email password are stored in the backup in plain text. Anyone with access to the backup can easily see what I would think is rather sensitive information.

This may not be a problem for many or most people because the ZIP files can be stored on a computer that the user controls but, without thinking too hard about this, it seems to be a chink in the ISY's security armor.

Would it create too many problems if a future version encrypted this information or at least made it harder to see (maybe XOR the characters with a binary mask known only to the firmware)?

I hasten to add this issue is not important to me but I thought I would bring it up just in case it is important to others and has been overlooked.

Hello dnl,

You are correct. We do have plans of encrypting everything but it's not high on our priority list since backup files are not stored on a server (they are the responsibility of the customer to keep safe).

The problem with encrypting the passwords is that we have to have a key to encrypt it so if the key is device unique, then the same backup will not work when restored on a different device. If it's a master key, then the problem is that all backup files will be encrypted with the same key which is basically just a little more secure than plain text.

In short, it is in our plans but with low priority.

With kind regards,

Michel

Hi Michel,

Thanks for the reply. It is easy to understand why this has a low priority.

I have two more thoughts for whatever they may be worth.