Scenes

matapan

I've been using an ISY for several years now. I have questions about some features with ISY and Insteon - the primary one being the purpose of scenes.

The Admin Console allows one to create a scene for a group of switches/devices. Activate the scene, and the responders in the scene should respond. I get that.

What I don't understand is what you do with the individual devices defined in the scene. For example, you can theoretically set a different ramp rate and on level for individual Switchlinc dimmers in a scene. What does that actually mean? If I toggle a paddle in a 3 or 4 way switch circuit, the lights turn on using the ramp rate and on level defined in the scene. This is true regardless of the switch in the scene this was done from. So far, I haven't figured out what the individual device settings are supposed to be used for.

Anyone care to comment?

For example, you can theoretically set a different ramp rate and on level for individual Switchlinc dimmers in a scene. What does that actually mean?

For each controller in a scene (including the PLM/ISY), you can set different levels and ramp rates. This means that the response to pressing controller A can be set different than the response when pressing controller B. For example one Keypad button or switch can turn all the scene's lights to 100%. Another switch can turn them to 50%.

If I toggle a paddle in a 3 or 4 way switch circuit, the lights turn on using the ramp rate and on level defined in the scene.

Not necessarily true, if you you set the scene levels and ramp rates for the paddle different than that for the scene, itself.