ISY-99i, Vista 20P Panel, X10 - to activate Insteon Scenes

AZAutomation

I’m sure someone has already successfully accomplished this, but I’m not sure the best way to approach the task. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

I have a self installed Honeywell Vista 20P / ISY-99i / and 100% Insteon environment. I was thinking of adding a X10 transformer (1361X10) to the Vista Panel to send X10 signals to accomplish a few simple task.

1. When disarmed during late hours activate “welcome home†seen (Insteon).

2. When alarm goes off (siren) activate “panic†seen (Insteon).

I’m not sure the best way to accomplish this since I have no experience with X10 devices, and am very novice on the Vista 20P panel.

Can someone give me some pointers or alternative methods to accomplish this? I don’t have $800 to buy an ELK alarm panel.

Thanks in advance . . .

I have done it with a vista 40. Had the x10 transformer already in use from when I used x10. I have since used it with the isy for arming and disarming.

As long as you have good communication between the panel transformer and the isy you will be fine. In my case I had given away my coupler/repeater so I had to move circuits around to keep them both on the same leg.

The other option is that you could add the relay module to the panel and one of the simplehomenet modules which would allow you to keep everything insteon.

Using x10 with the panel has worked out fine for me. However, if I had not already had the x10 capability I would have probably gone the relay route. Either way, you will either have to get into the setup for the vista 20 and make the programming changes for the x10 codes, or the relay activity.

I'm a tad bit novice, does anyone have samples of how to make my concept work. It sounds like others have already accomplished much more then just activating scenes.