How does If read and/or together?

BlakeB

EDIT: Oops, think I just found my solution tinkering around with it. Just saw the And (...)/ Or (...) Commands. I'll leave it here to see if I'm right, or for anyone else that doesn't notice maybe? Unless I should delete it.

I'm not sure if this is answered somewhere else, I looked and couldn't find quite what I'm looking for (granted I am new at searching forums), and sorry i it has been.

I'm trying to help my dad set up his programs, and he had one for his outside lights that wasn't working right. He wants it to turn his lights on an hour before sunrise, and turn them off 30 mins later. Here's what he had:

If: Time is sunrise - 1 hour

Then:

Set Scene 'Scenes / Outside Lights' On

Wait 1 hour 30 minutes

Set Scene 'Scenes / Outside Lights' Off

Else: nothing

It turns them on, but not off. I figure the problem was the Wait noticing that If is no longer true, so stops the process. I noticed conditions can't include scenes, and there are 2 separate lights in the scene. My plan was to do something like this:

If:

Time is sunrise - 1 hour

And Outside Light 1 is off

Or Outside Light 2 is off

Then:

Set Scene 'Scenes / Outside Lights' On

Else:

Wait 1 hour 30 minutes

Set Scene 'Scenes / Outside Lights' Off

Turning them on if either light is off. But, I don't know if the If will think

If

(Statement 1 AND Statement 2) OR statement 3 is true

or

If

Statement 1 is True AND (Statement 2 or 3)

I don't know if this even makes sense. Any help would be appreciated, or if you need clarification on anything. (Also, I think it has a couple other problems based on how the and/or will work, but I can get to those later).

UDI Wiki has a good section on order of precedence. Rather than trying to remember which takes precedence just include parentheses.

If
       Time is Sunrise -  1 hour 
   And (
            Status  'ICON Dimmer 1' is Off
         Or Status  'ICON Relay 2' is Off
       )

Then