Attempting first install of ISY994i and can't link

Hi,

this is my first experience with Insteon equipment.

I have been using X10 devices exclusively for 25+ years, and I have a bunch of them in my house.

I recently swapped my outside lights with LED bulbs, and I needed something to control them.

I bought a set of Insteon Togglelinc wall switches - thinking they were X10 compatible...

(yeah - poor research on my part). Once I discovered what they were, I started reading about the ISY99i and thought it would

be a good replacement for an aging CM11a.

I bought an ISY99i and a dual band PLM - and plugged them into the same outlet on the same circuit my CM11a is plugged into.

For the life of me - I can't get it to detect my togglelinc switches.

I put the switches into link mode - and then via the java console for the ISY99i - I select 'Link Management -> 'Start Linking' and run over to one of the switches and put it in link mode.

The switch's LED just blinks - and eventually times out.

When I had incandescent bulbs - the CM11a was able to drive the X10 switches w/out any problem. All I did was swap the bulbs with LED bulbs and the X10 push button switches with the togglelinc

switches.

I have an X10 bridge plugged into a 220 outlet I wired up just for that purpose.

Checking the log of the ISY99i - it reports seeing traffic from my CM11a - but no mention of the togglelincs.

I have tried factory reseting the switches and starting over from scratch.

What am I missing?

thanks

Jim

ToggleLincs are not Dual Band devices (no RF). If they are on the opposite 120v leg from the ISY PLM plug point the ToggleLinc will be near impossible to communicate with. A minimum of two Dual Band devices are necessary. I prefer a pair of Access Points for phase coupling as they can be plugged into whatever outlets are required to get them on opposite 120V legs and within RF range of each other.