ceiling fan question

buffyandsneaky

Hello, and warning, I am a bit of a newbie to the Insteon and ISY, but a bit of a closeted geek...

All the ceiling fans in my house currently have the power "split" with a dimmer switch (the ugly knob kind) as well as a fan rheostat (again the ugly knob kind), and one ceiling fan (in the family room) has this setup as well as an additional fan on/off switch, so a fan 3-way setup. Another fan (sunroom) has a 3-way dimmer knob as well as a 3-way switch at the opposite end of the room to control the lighting, again has the fan rheostat at one side only.

I would like to phase in, in stages, the removal of all these existing "knobs", but looking at what is available from Insteon for ceiling fan control appears to assume existing wiring is not already split between fan and light function. I also like the idea I saw on another forum regarding using a keypad linc for programming "on" time via the ISY for waking up to get to work... I'm open for ideas.

After some problems with the initial setup with my ISY's sd card (thank you Michel for fixing), I managed to get the 2 "scenes" wired in and working for my mother to operate two different lights so she has less chance of falling. She now has the ability to turn them on or off via Mobilinc and an ipod touch that I have all set up for her. So despite the fact that I got these two separate circuits working ok, I'm still scratchin my head on trying to figure out what to do next.

thanks!

Kathi

For fan control, check into the fanlinc for installation into the fixture location and a six-button keypad for control puropses. At the switch and fixture locations, you will require only hot and neutral. The fan/light will connect directly to the fanlinc. The bad news is that you will require only a single box location in place of your current two.

The bad news is that you will require only a single box location in place of your current two.