How to get help with some ISY concepts and programming

whywork

Hi,

I am new to the ISY and this forum. I just purchased an ISY994i with network and weather modules, to use with my Insteon devices (in a weekend cabin) and look forward to the power and flexibility of ISY. In preparation of my move to ISY, I lurked in this forum and am impressed by both ISY support and member contributions. I wish I had gotten an ISY sooner.

Some background: I have a 1200 sq ft cabin used on the weekends with devices including a 220 V load controller for the electric hot water heater, Insteon Wireless thermostat, morninglinc door locks, togglelinc for lights, an iolinc for garage door and some appliancelincs for lights and “other†control , plus some indoor and outdoor Insteon motion sensors. I have purchased Mobilinc Pro for my android phone.

Now that my ISY994i is up and running, and talking to my ISY devices, I want to put it to work. I did some programming 30 years ago, but would appreciate some pointers, examples/cookbooks or tutorials for ISY. I have reviewed the forum and wiki and there is lots of information, but I have not been able to understand some concepts that seem useful.

Examples of what I want to do (this home is mostly used on weekends):

• Home and Away Modes

o “Know†when someone is home, Motion Detection, Change in device (turned on or off

Time out - No changes for eight hours – go to away

• Home mode

o Friday evening , Turn on hot water heater, Turn on appliancelinc for a few items, Timeout if no-one arrives in eight hours (Change to Away)

• Email me

o If the garage door is open for more than an hour after sunset

o If the outside temp, or inside temp go below their own “trigger†temperatures

• Be able to query and control a Digital Logger Web Power Switch via HTML

o Turn on an outlet, Know the status of an outlet

o Turn an outlet on/off in accordance with AWAY/HOME status and schedule