Thermostat Control Questions

shannong

Greetings.

I'm new to HA in general and just got my ISY994i yesterday. So far I've installed about 20 Insteon switches and plugs and am in process to install another 30 or so including door sensors, motion detectors, leak detectors, etc.

One of the first things I'd like to get setup is thermostat control. I have the Insteon Thermostat (2441TH) and wireless thermostat 2441ZTH. I also have a damper installed on each of the two vents in the bedroom connected to IOLincs to establish zone control. (Well, almost. Still need to run an electrical wires to them this weekend.)

The goal is to monitor the master bedroom temp at night using the wireless thermostat mounted in there to make HVAC control decisions and also decide when to close the dampers. I plan to create a "Dream" scene to turn off lights, set security alarm settings, establish thermostat set point, etc. This drives to me two questions:

1. Can I check the status of scene as a condition? This means I could make HVAC decisions based on my actual activities vs a schedule. I don't have a usual bedtime during the week or weekend so having an IF statement based on a time schedule won't work well. If I use the "Dream" scene each night when I go to bed, that's more effective and accurate.