Basic Program Question

shannong

Greetings.

I'm relatively new to ISY and HA in general. I have an ISY setup with about 50 Insteon devices and have several scenes setup, a few programs for control, etc. Now I'm working on IR integration with my universal remote.

I have the IR integration working where I can press a button on the remote and the ISY recognizes it. I'd like this particular button to toggle on/of a Lamplinc. I do not want to have one button for on and another for off. I could use a long and short press if I must but would prefer simple toggle.

I struggle with implementing conditional logic in ISY due to the IF conditions always being evaluated when any of the statements are affected by a change.

This pseudo-code represents the first try:

If

IR_01 is PRESSED

And LampLinc is OFF

Then

Set LampLinc On

Else

Set LampLinc OFF

As you probably already know this didn't work. When it's off, the command to turn it on is sent but as soon as this happens the logic now changes and is then turned off by the Else statement after revaluation because the light is now on.

I realized I could easily add an Integer Variable to the mix to track the state between on and off if that was the only thing happening. However, that's not a viable solution since there are many other scenes and programs that will turn the LampLinc on/off. Therefore, the use of variable would be messy and complex to manage it would have to be updated all.

Your help and suggestions are appreciated.

I am also new to ISY programming. So, if there's a better way to do this, please correct me.

What I would do is remove the button press from the IF statement in the program you posted and save it as just a toggle program. Then, write another program for your button with the button press in the IF statement.

Something like this

If
  LampLinc is OFF

Then
  Set LampLinc On

Else
  Set LampLinc OFF

IF
  IR_01 is PRESSED

Then
  Run Program 'Toggle LampLinc' (If)

Else
  - No Actions