Network Module Support for Digest Passwords

belias

I use the ISY to integrate with various IP cameras to control all sorts of things.  In the past, I have used basic authentication (since they operate on secure networks).  However, lately the camera manufacturers are beginning to require digest authentication.  Is it possible for the network module to support this?

Thanks.

- Brian

Hmm... I was under the impression that digest authentication required 2-way communication between the device and the initiator (ISY).  I'm not sure how to try this with the network module.

I am new to this, so if I'm missing something - my apologies.

Thanks.

- Brian

Hmm... I was under the impression that digest authentication required 2-way communication between the device and the initiator (ISY). I'm not sure how to try this with the network module.

I am new to this, so if I'm missing something - my apologies.

Thanks.

- Brian

You are correct.

The server sends a nonce in response to the initial request, client uses the username and password in hashing the nonce and sends it back to the server in a second request. Server does the same thing internally and, sharing the knowledge of the password, the user can be authenticated and the password itself never had to transit the network. Its more 'secure' then basic because the authorization cannot be replayed - each initial request will get a unique nonce to work with. However, it carries a bad weakness - there is no protection for the session cookie, leaving the user vulnerable to session hijacking. Its certainly not the panacea to securing a service - SSL is the correct answer to this.

ISY lacks the ability to do anything with any data received in response to the network request. There is no static 'authorization' header you can add, since the 'correct' header is dependent on the nonce received at the start of the connection.

Michael.