Thermostat Problems

I'm new to the Insteon market.

I've started with a few devices, and am working on growing.

My latest investment was a Insteon Thermostat 2441TH. Every time I try to write a program or control my stat from my computer I lose communication. I'm confused. I also wrote a program to tell me when the heat gets turned on, however I get 2 notifications every time instead of one. Lastly, if I set the Set point to 71 my stat reads 70 and the heat doesn't turn on.

Any help would be appreciated

Lastly, if I set the Set point to 71 my stat reads 70 and the heat doesn't turn on.

Any help would be appreciated

Thermostats have a "deadband" concept. They wait X degrees, typically 2 degrees, before calling for heat or cool. My recollection of the 2441TH is that it has a 2 degree deadband. In your scenario, that would mean it should come on at 69. Is that what you are seeing?

I don't believe that the deadband can be changed in the 2441TH, but 2 degrees is fairly standard across thermostats as it protects wear on the HVAC system from cycling too much.

** Its also more efficient with a 2 degree deadband. The cycles will be longer, but there will be fewer of them per day. There is overhead, in gas, to start each cycle up

Info only: Venstar thermostats can be set to a 1ºF deadband. Albe thermostats, albeit not Insteon compatible, have a 0.9ºF deadband. Gas furnaces, unlike gas engines do no use any extra gas to startup. And there are no moving parts, so cycling is not a problem.

Compressors, OTOH, do use more energy on startup. Too, starting a compressor is stressful, so the duration between startups does matter. But, the nearly all programmable thermostats have an adjustable activation delay for the compressor.

My new carrier gas heaters recommend a limit of 3 cycles per hour in the installation manual. That is what I get on with the out-of-the box 2 degree deadband of my venstar thermostat.