HouseLinc to ISY994i migration

jackman

Hi folks,

New forum member here. I've been using Insteon since 2007. I started with the old 2414U PLC with timers then moved up to HouseLinc in 2011, and am now faced with another end of life product and a failing 2413U, likely with the dreaded capacitor problem. I plan to upgrade to the ISY994i Pro but I'm wondering what the best method for migration might be. I've got about 40 devices, including motion sensors, IRLinc, KeypadLinc, switches, dimmers, RemoteLincs, 2242 Hub, etc. Many of the switches have multiple links to other switches. HouseLinc has been a terrific product for me but as you all know it's no longer supported. I really don't want to factory reset all these devices and start over from scratch since that would probably take me weeks to restore. 

All advice on how to proceed is greatly appreciated. 

Hi folks,

New forum member here. I've been using Insteon since 2007. I started with the old 2414U PLC with timers then moved up to HouseLinc in 2011, and am now faced with another end of life product and a failing 2413U, likely with the dreaded capacitor problem. I plan to upgrade to the ISY994i Pro but I'm wondering what the best method for migration might be. I've got about 40 devices, including motion sensors, IRLinc, KeypadLinc, switches, dimmers, RemoteLincs, 2242 Hub, etc. Many of the switches have multiple links to other switches. HouseLinc has been a terrific product for me but as you all know it's no longer supported. I really don't want to factory reset all these devices and start over from scratch since that would probably take me weeks to restore. 

All advice on how to proceed is greatly appreciated. 

When you first get a ISY Series Controller one of the selections when you add a device is to *Keep all existing links* you can go that route. Should that method not operate as you expect you could hard reset one device one at a time and add it back to the system at your leisure.