New Wiring for Insteon - Best Practices?

matapan

The only electrical installation guideline is that each box contain a neutral/common wire and a line/hot wire. That includes switch boxes that may lack a neutral wire and ceiling boxes that may lack a line wire.

Reliability lies with the user.

In particular, there are electronic devices that are designed to provide "clean" electricity, for example, line conditioners, UPSs, that will effective erase Insteon signals (signal suckers) and others that produce enough noise to overcome the Insteon signal (signal stompers) such as noisy power supplies, TVs. wall warts, non-incandescent lighting loads, etc.

In both situations, there are a few cures, The easiest is a filter for any plug-in device. The solution for any other problem is best decided after the problem device is located.

The good news is that most installations that include dual-band devices are trouble-free.

I'm not an electrician by trade, I work with low-voltage and RF cabling, mostly in relation to corporate networking.

Current code covers most of the obvious things that would be a concern with Insteon and signal quality.    Here are some physical layer issues that are good to consider when planning:

• Specify the tallest load center (breaker box) that you can, make sure there are ~6 unused breaker positions in the panel.   While you're at it, research whole house surge protectors, that will take up 2 breakers.
  • Specify minimum of 12AWG for all in-wall wiring, the smaller 14AWG isn't worth the tiny cost savings.
  • Resist feeding multiple rooms from a single breaker (unless the cost savings is significant).
  • Avoid mixing outdoor outlets with anything other than other outdoor outlets, especially if you use GFCI breakers instead of GFCI outlets (due to nuisance tripping).  This means outdoor lighting (and under-eaves outlets) should be separate, not shared with outdoor ground-level outlets.