Motion Sensor II Battery Level

tomho

Hello all. Newbie to the forums, but I have been doing basic ISY programming for 3-4 years. 

I just upgraded from 2.7.5 to 5.0.16C, and, in regards to this post, I have a single 2844-222 v.46 Motion Sensor II. 

My battery died a few weeks ago, and I discovered it because I noticed the sensor wasn't detecting motion. So I wanted to find a way to notify me in the event of any future battery failures. 

Just to jump to the point, I found that the "Battery Level" % reading will not update unless the battery is actually disconnected and then reconnected. I discovered this by substituting an adjustable DC power supply for the battery and setting it to various voltages, using a program to run a Query every time  the motion was tripped ON. I adjusted the supply all the way from below 1V up to 3.4V and the Battery Level "xx %" reading would not change UNLESS I disconnected/reconnected the power supply. 

Also, throughout all this testing, the "Low Battery" Node was always blank. 

Just in case anyone is interested, after the power cycle; 3.4V = 90%, 3.0V = 80%, 2.5V = 70%, 2.0V = 60%. The % readings are approximate - I saw 3 to 5% variation over the couple days testing. Of course this is marginally useful information, who wants to pull the battery and re-install it just to test it. 

So, based on this test on this sensor, it appears that any sort of low battery test is just not going to work. Or am I missing something? Any bright ideas? 

Yeah. I don't trust anything that comes off of the MS II units except for motion sensing. They appear to do this quite reliably but the rest is just nonsense, so far.

When queried they can go into oscillation and cripple your whole ISY system. UDI wanted to dump this unit for ISY development, until Insteon produces an API spec or some documentation.. What we have so far is only a hack from UDI efforts.

Report5.JPG

Thank you ELA for the information.