Linking 2 switches

OutBackOne

I am new to the home automation world and am just getting started. I have what is probably a basic question.

I am linking my first 2 switches. I have them added and both included in a scene. When you turn one of the switches on/off at the switch the other ones LED responds accordingly to show on/off. So I believe I have them linked correctly.

The problem is if I turn one on/off from the Device Console or from MobiLinc the second switch LED does not change as well. Why does this work when you do it at the switch but not remotely??♦

You turn the Scene On and Off from the Admin Console for both switches to follow. In Insteon, even though switches are cross-linked, turning either switch On/Off "individually" from another controller (PLM in this case) does not cause the other switch to react. That would be cascading Controller function (controller 1 turning on responder 1 which then becomes controller 2 and turns On/Off its responders) which is not the way Insteon works.

From and Insteon perspective a Group is a Scene is a Group. The Insteon command document and PLM developer guide do not have the word Scene in either document. All Controller to Responder relationships are Groups from a hardware perspective. Scene is used in end user documents to describe an Insteon Group.

I don't use MobiLinc so I have no reference to what is considered a Group from that products perspective.

When an Insteon Direct command is sent from the Admin Console to control an individual device there is no placeholder for a Group number. Link records are not required and not used with an Insteon Direct command.

If you think about it a little bit, you can see why controlling a switch from something other than switch should only control that switch, and not propogate onto other switches.