Can't bridge phases with SignaLinc hardwired phase coupler

Hi. I'm new to this forum. I've been using Insteon devices in my condominium for the past 5 years, bridging the two phases of my electrical system with the old plug-in Signal Enhancers (#2442). I recently bought the ISY-99i. When I hooked it up, it would only communicate with devices on the same phase as the PLM (#2412S). After discussing the problem with someone at Universal Devices and reading this forum, I realized that the old plug-in Signal Enhancers do not support communication with the ISY-99i. I decided to install the SignaLinc V2 hardwired phase coupler (#2406H). This is where the mystery begins. Neither the ISY-99i nor any of my Insteon devices can communicate across the hardwired bridge. All communication (between devices or between the ISY-99i and various devices) on one phase seems perfect. But, no signals are crossing to the opposite phase.

The SignaLinc hardwired bridge is connected to a ganged 20A GE circuit breaker. The two hot wires coming out of the circuit breaker each carry 110V and connect to the black and red wires on the hardwired bridge. There are 240V across the two wires (actually, my multimeter reads 200V ?). I have been on the phone twice with SmartHome but have not found the solution. I have tried the following:

1. Faulty SignaLinc device. Smarthome was nice enough to ship me a second SignaLinc device free of charge. The new bridge behaves exactly like the first one, and there is no change in the system.

2. Problem with circuit breaker or position in breaker box. I have re-wired the bridge to two single 15A breakers and placed them in different locations within the breaker box, ensuring that the two wires are coming off opposite phases. There is no change in the system.