Program to run only when device first turns on

kegacide

Sorry this may be a newbie question, but I am a newbie to this automation fun stuff.

My first program controls certain lights when I turn my TV on, including my dining room light. BUT I only want it to turn off that light when the TV first turns on, that way if that light is still actually needed (like there are guests there), it can be turned on by the physical switch. The current program I created checks if the TV is on and runs the program which turns off the light, and therefore keeps it off regardless of switch the entire time the TV is on. I want a way to run it only when the TV is turning on, not maintained the whole time it is on, can I do that?

I am posting this from work, so I can't play with it right now (didn't turn on internet access yet), but the only thing I just thought about is disabling the program after the program runs, then when the TV is turned back off, reenabling the program. Is it possible to disable a program inside its own THEN statement?

Thanks for the help, and I tried searching for this, but wasn't able to find the right commands to search for to get answers.

You could use a variable.

I think this should do it, but it might have some bugs as I haven't fully vetted it.

If

status Light is off

and control tv is switched on

Then

set light on

set $tvlight to 1

Else

. . .

If

$tvlight = 1

and Control tv is switched off

Then

set light off

set $tvlight = 0

Else

- --

You could use a variable.

I think this should do it, but it might have some bugs as I haven't fully vetted it.

If

status Light is off

and control tv is switched on

Then

set light on

set $tvlight to 1

Else

. . .

If

$tvlight = 1

and Control tv is switched off

Then

set light off

set $tvlight = 0

Else

- --