Irrigation Requirement 4.2.4 Question

jmed999

Seems like pre 4.2.4 the irrigation requirement had a negative cap on it. So if I got 1" inch of rain it didn't go -1.0". In 4.2.4 this isn't the case.

For example, a couple days ago we got about 1" of rain. My current evapo is about 0.1" per day. My current irrigation requirement is -0.7". This means in about 10 days my irrigation system will be activated through programs which require the irrigation req to be 0.3". That 1 inch of rain was great but my lawn will be very dry if I count on that 1" to keep my lawn watered for ~13 days.

Am I missing something here or did the irrigation req negative cap go away in 4.2.4?

Thanks!

I also noticed the large negative values. I'm not an expert on these types of watering algorithms, but it doesn't seem like the outcome of the change is ideal for keeping lawns watered on a somewhat regular basis.

Could users that were having problems before use the new 24 hour rain forecast data to help with overwatering? I know I am using it to prevent irrigation if more than a quarter inch is expected in the next 24 hours.

You would write a program with your own negative cap and have it reset the variables.

If
       Module 'Climate' Irrigation Requirement <= 0 inches

Then
       Irrigation - Reset Variables

Else
  - No Actions - (To add one, press 'Action')

As a side note, Michel; negative values are not selectable from the Irrigation Requirement menu.

Glad I saw this thread - this has had me scratching my head for a few days now...

I've been setting up / observing my newly-purchased irrigation module, and I started on a day when we got just under an inch of rain. Now today, after 3 consecutive sunny 85+ degree days I see that the irrigation requirement is still negative. I'm not yet using these results to schedule my watering, but I'm betting that if I was the sunniest parts of my lawn would be getting pretty crispy...