Program to turn off lights that are accidentally left on

eyost

Hi all,

I am trying to create a program that will turn off lights that are accidentally left on.

For example, every morning I take my dog out at 6:15a and turn on the back floods. There are times I forget to turn off the floods and as a result they are left on unnecessarily all day. 

What I have now is the following. This is my first attempt to posting a program that has been exported out. Hope I do it right.

<?xml version="1.0" ?><triggers><d2d><trigger><id>30</id><name>Back Floods Sunrise Off</name><parent>1</parent><if><and /><device><status /><node>A B1 10 4</node><op>=</op><control>ERR</control><action>0</action></device><and /><device><status /><node>A B1 10 4</node><op>=</op><control>ST</control><action>255</action></device><and /><schedule><from><sunrise>1800</sunrise></from><to><sunset>-1800</sunset></to></schedule></if><then><device><group>27818</group><control>DOF</control><action>0</action></device></then><else></else><comment></comment></trigger></d2d></triggers>

Basically I have it to turn the lights off if they are on and the time is 30 minutes after sunrise and less than 30 minutes from sunset. Also, this is a scene that is assigned to a button on a KeyPadLinc and it doesn't seem to update the status light on the button when it is turned off.

Any ideas if this would work?

Thanks,

Ed

If time is from sunrise + 30 min. to sunset - 30 min (same day)

Then. Set scene 'back flood lights' off.

You have to set the scene off, not just the device (flood light controller) that controls the load.

You can add "and flood light controller status is on" to the if. I don't mind the extra insteon traffic generated by sending a scene off command for a scene that is already off.

Hi Jimbo-

I have a few programs in my set up that do this sort of thing.  Let me give you a few ideas.

First,

Program: Back Deck Timer Daytime

If
        From    Sunrise +  1 second