Motion Sensor Low-Battery Event (or lack thereof)

Wingsy

I posted my story about this over in the Insteon forums but I think I'll see what I get here.

First, I've got a new ISY994i (4.2.18) and a couple of motion sensors (2842-222). I'm new to this field but not to electronics & software, being an electronics engineer for years and years. When setting all this stuff up and tinkering with it, what got my curiosity tickled was that I somehow acquired a low battery condition in one of the MS, as shown in the ISY Admin Console. It would not go away, even after taking out the battery and putting it back after a few minutes, or after doing a factory reset on the device. The only way was to remove the device from the ISY and add it back.

Then I hooked it up to a power supply, starting at 9.0v and slowly ramping it down .2 volts at a time, waiting about 5 minutes between changes. It sent a low-battery ON signal at 7.0v, observed in the Admin Console and also triggering a program to turn on an ON/OFF module. I also tested my 2nd MS and it triggered a low-batt signal at 7.2v. So far, so good. I disconnected the MS, set the voltage back to 9v and reconnected it to the 9v supply after about 3 minutes. I was expecting to see a Low-Battery OFF signal sent, but no. Tapping the set button - no. Power off, wait, then reconnect - no. Factory reset and try again - no. Pushing SET 7 times - no. And then, to add to my frustration, I ran the voltage back down to 7v and waited - no Low-Battery ON signal sent either! Now neither one of my MS will send another low battery signal, and neither has ever sent a low-battery OFF signal. It's like it's a once-in-a-lifetime event.