Program trigger requests

jhimmel

I would like the following triggers added -

1. Device "has been on/off for exactly HH.MM.SS"

This is different then watching for an ON or OFF and then waiting a given period of time because the device could be toggled again while you are waiting.

2. Device "SET on/off"

This differs from "Changed to on/off" in that it would trigger if an ON was pressed - even if the device was already ON.

I am new to ISY, so if these scenarios are already available, please let me know how.

Thanks,

Jim H.

Interesitng. This is exactly what I am building into my web application. I think these are both useful.

I use them both in Homeseer. I'll give an example -

I have my bathroom exhaust fan set to turn off if the light has been off for exactly 3 minutes. So, I take a shower, I leave the room, turn off the light, and the exhaust fan continues to clear the steam from the room for three minutes. However, if the next person goes in to take a shower and turns on the light before the three minutes is over, the fan is already running, so they leave it on. This type of trigger resets (three minutes off not yet reached), and the fan stays on as desired - where as a simple three minute timer would have turned the fan off in the middle of his shower.

I use this type of thing in a number of Homeseer events.

There is other logic I could apply to construct a similar result, but this trigger makes it simple.

My uses for "Set On" is somewhat complicated and would be difficult to explain here, but I use that one in Homeseer as well.

What's going on with me is that I am working with the new ISY alpha plugin for Homeseer. I am trying to move as much of my lighting logic to the ISY as I can, leaving mostly non-lighting events in Homeseer. The thing is, Homeseer is quite a bit more configurable than the ISY. These two additions would help.

Another thing that would help is ability to do IF THEN nesting on the ISY program page. (IF, THEN, IF...)