Surge supressor outlet for PLM?

rleidy

I'm setting-up a structured wiring enclosure with some surge-protected receptacles (these).  The PLM quick start guide says not to use an AC line filter to power the PLM - would these receptacles be considered filters?  I didn't think so, but the I get intermittent communication issues when the PLM is plugged-in to one of the surge protected outlets.  In an unprotected outlet, I don't seem to have the issue.  Just wondering if surge suppressor outlets "ought" to work with the PLM.  (Signalinc is installed at the breaker panel)

All of the Leviton surge outlets have some kind of filtering in place. The link you provided has two of them wired in parallel and thus the filtering aspect is cumulative.

If you remove the other and replace it with a standard outlet you will more than likely see normal PLM COM's. I've been using these surge alarm outlets for more than ten years with Insteon with out issue.

As noted above if there are multiple surge outlets like these on the same branch circuit it will indeed impact your Insteon network. 

Teken - thanks for the reply.  When you say that you've not had any problem with these type of surge alarm outlets with Insteon, do I take it that you mean with Insteon communication in general?  Not that you're using them for the PLM with no problem, correct?  I guess I'm asking when would using the surge alarm outlets be okay and when would they cause Insteon issues?

Thanks! 

Teken - thanks for the reply.  When you say that you've not had any problem with these type of surge alarm outlets with Insteon, do I take it that you mean with Insteon communication in general?  Not that you're using them for the PLM with no problem, correct?  I guess I'm asking when would using the surge alarm outlets be okay and when would they cause Insteon issues?

Thanks!