Programming: What can trigger a program and what cant?

gduprey

Howdy,

I've been using several ISYs for a few years, but there are a few conditions and situations where I've never gotten a good handle on.  One of them is what can be used to "trigger" a program to run and what wont.

Previous (referenced in a thread from 2 weeks ago), I had it in my head that IF statements that checked a Status of a device (vs Control statements) would not be triggered when that status changed (that only Control statements allowed for an enabled program to be triggered and Status statements were for conditional evaluation only).  Based on responses and to my surprise, that turned out to be bunk and Status checks worked fine in an IF to cause a program top run/trigger.

I know that at least with variables, the big difference between regular variable and state variables is changes in a regular variable won't trigger a programs IF where changes in a State variable can.

So to get final clarity on the topic, are there any other items that you can include in a programs IF statement that will not result in it being triggered (i.e. regular variables)?  Or is it "beware of variables for triggering" and everything else you can reference in an IF is capable of triggering the IF to evaluate/execute?

And in a similar vein, are there things that if evaluated (i.e. something else does a "Run (If)" vs an event the ISY processes) won't work except as a trigger?  I'm wondering about Control type events -- those strike me as strictly "something happens for that instant of time" and subsequent evaluation of a If with a Control in it will fail because the event has passed)

Gerry

Hi Gerry,

With regards to:

Previous (referenced in a thread from 2 weeks ago), I had it in my head that IF statements that checked a Status of a device (vs Control statements) would not be triggered when that status changed

It should read: