Hi! I'm new to internet of things and universal devices. I was wondering if anyone can either point me in the right direction or help me get started with some basic knowledge. I have a few questions:

Will I be able to develop an iOS app with the api? If so which one do I use?
I want to develop my own iOS app for some tiny homes that I'm building, could I possibly brand them with my own brand?

If I do develop an iOS app will I have to pay universal devices anything?

Thanks in advance for helping out! sorry for being a newbie haha :) 

A long time ago, I used command fusion to build my own app to use with my ISY. Their Iviewer app would be the interface for your phone/tablet.

It is also possible to build your own apps as well if you have the know how.

I haven't touched it in a long time as I use RTI now so I really can't give you any details about it's full capabilities now.

You have a number of options. You can interface your iOS app to the ISY in each home through the Web Service/REST interface hosted on the ISY device, but would have to setup the network infrastructure in each house to enable outside access. Alternatively, you can use the ISY Portal which requires a small annual fee for each account and you have to contact UDI to enable integration with the portal (I think they are probably very open to mobile apps and interfaces since they don't develop one themselves). The interface is the same - the portal simply acts as a cloud-based proxy for the ISY, along with some other integrations, such as Alexa and Google Home connectivity. 

All the information you need can be found here:

https://www.universal-devices.com/isy-developers/

Thank you so much for responding! So I'm starting to read the documentation and it is very clear. However I have two more questions before I dive deeper into this. Just to make sure I can access these endpoints if I'm coding in swift? Also can I use this for commercial use?