What is the point of the ISY Finder?

bretta

Serious question.

If I want to open the admin console, I have to use this ISY Finder thing.  20% of the time, it opens with no info in it.  I then have to manually enter an IP address, complete with the http:// bullshit.  If the IP has changed, I have to run through various guesses until it agrees that there is an ISY at that particular address.  So why is it called a "Finder"?  Wouldn't a "finder" scan the network and find the IP address of any ISY on it?

Asking for a friend.

2 hours ago, larryllix said:

Were you having problems today?

A major Internet outage occurred a few times and it may be cloud dependant.

This may be an indicator a firewall is blocking discovery.

This is an ongoing problem.  I have been running ISY for 3 or 4 years and this has been an issue since day one.  ISY Finder will never find anything unless I've already told it what IP to look for.     I will have to look into the firewall possibility

The purpose of the finder is to locate the ISY by a non IP ethernet frame using a very standard method. For this feature to work, the ISY and the PC using the admin console have to be on the same subnet eg 192.168.0.x. The finder sends the magix , the ISY on the same subnet should see it and respond. If that's not happening,  something's not right network wise. 

If I access the ISY from the outside of my house, I run into needing to manually enter its address in the finder and save it.

A couple of things to do:

• An appliance type device like the ISY should always maintain the same IP address. You can set a static IP address in the ISY under the admin console / configuration. Or... most routers allow you too assign IP addresses to specific devices via DHCP, so they always have the same. I suggest you do the router method, as you have an existing network of IP addresses and there's a change you could pick one that's taken... had to remedy that if it happens