Insteon and Distance Problem?

As a complete newbie, I need direction from the experienced members please…

I have switched out all the old X-10 switches and modules to Insteon models or directly replaced those switches I don’t need automated at this time with single pole on off switches.  I am down to two remaining X-10 devices.

The problem I have, I believe, is one of distance:  Device #1 is an on/off switch located about 200 feet from the house in a shed that protects my well and pump.  This switch controls two lights at my road entrance another 200 feet further out.  The electric lines run from this shed out to the entrance and feed the lights and gate opener.  Using the old X-10 system, both lights and gates worked just fine.  I tried replacing #1with an Insteon on/off switch but the ISY 994i says it cannot determine the engine (or something like that).  I also tried manually putting in the address but receive a similar message.  When I tried to simply add the X-10 switch in as is, the ISY adds it to the device list but nothing happens when I run the program.  Given all this, I am assuming the distance is too great?

Device #2 is an X-10 relay set to deliver a single pulse to the gate opener which signals the gate to open / close.  Since I couldn’t get the lights to work, I haven’t yet attempted replacing it with an Insteon relay…

Other than these two remaining items, the system is working very nicely.  So, any suggestions on how to handle this problem would be greatly appreciated. 

Insteon is based on a mesh network. The more dual band devices you have the more reliable your system becomes as each device relays the signal.

"cannot determine the engine" means that your PLM is unable to communicate with the Insteon device.

Adding dual band plug in modules will improve the range of your devices. You also need to make sure that both sides of your 120 powerline are coupled via dual band devices.

Take a look at these troubleshooting links: